The Booker Award and couple of repeat offenders drop by.

Posted: June 11, 2012 in Blog Awards, Books, Favorite Authors
Tags: , , ,

One nice thing about going on vacation was that I received several awards while I was gone. It was like coming home and checking the mailbox to find it stuffed with wonderful packages instead of junk mail. Thanks so much to Paula at stuff i tell my sister for giving me another Sunshine Award (I never get tired of that colorful one) and thanks to Sarah Henson at Word (en)Count(ers) for another Versatile Blogger Award (I’m always trying to be versatile). I’m loving the repeat awards just as much the second time around. (See this post for my response to the first time I received both awards.) Greed, thy name is Valerie.

Then, I received a brand, spanking new award from Suzi Retzlaff at Literary Engineer. She passed The Booker Award on to me, and I must say it is the most interesting award I’ve received so far.

The rules for the Booker Award:

This award is for book bloggers only. To receive this award the blog must be at least 50% about books (reading or writing is okay)

Along with receiving this award, you must also share your top five favorite books you have ever read. (More than five is okay) You must give this award to 5-10 other lucky book blogs you adore.

Now for the hard part; whittling down all the books that I have fallen in love with throughout my life that have for one reason or another moved me in a very special way down to just five ten (I couldn’t make it down to five). Impossible, you say? Yes! I agree. So I just randomly drew these lucky souls out of a bowler hat:

  • The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis – one of the first books where I really discovered the magic of the written word. It sunk its teeth into me and never let go.
  • Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler – such a beautifully poignant story about loss and what comes after. It just made my heart ache over and over.
  • Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King – my first introduction to the wonder that is Amy King.
  • Ethan Between Us by Anna Myers – one of my favorite books by my dear friend.
  • Shalimar the Clown by Salman Rushdie – such a fantastic writer. This book has one scene that is so horrifically violent, so devastating, yet told in such a way that it is emotionally moving as well. I cannot get it out of my head to this day.
  • Looking for Alaska by John Green – started my love affair with all that is John Green.
  • The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Atwood – one of the first dystopian books I ever loved.
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – who wouldn’t love a book narrated by death?
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – I loved everything about this book. It stands the test of time.
  • The Underneath by Kathi Appelt – I never thought a book about animals could be so emotionally evocative. This is a book meant for writers to read.
  • Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume – she really answered all of my serious questions that no one else in my life at the time could answer. This is why I write the kind of stories I do now.

So many other books on my shelves are screaming, “What about me? Didn’t you love me just as much?” Poor, sad books. Of course I did. I wish I could tell all about you as well, but that would take all day. I can let the kind people reading this blog learn more about the other books I’ve read so far this year here. As for the rest of you, I’ll dust your shelves extra well and maybe even reread a few of you soon, all right? (I’m not the only one who talks to their books, am I?)

As for the lucky stories listed above, when I read each of them, at some point along the journey, I had a visceral response to what the characters were going through that connected me to it forever. That’s all I really want in a story; an honest emotional connection that grabs me right in the gut and makes me continue thinking about it long after I’ve reached the end. I really am easy to please.

What about you? What qualifications does a book need to meet in order to make it on to your top ten list?

And finally, I hereby bequeath this most revered of blog awards onto the following worthy bloggers:

I look forward to seeing your literary selections in the near future.

Comments
  1. Very cool. I love your list of books. congratulations on having such a successful blog.

  2. cricketmuse says:

    Loving this award thingy! Booker Award, huh? New one to me and soooo appropriate since I LOVE books muchly. Thanks for thinking of me and I’ll be passing the praise on soon.
    Happy Pages!
    CricketMuse

  3. Suzi says:

    One of my good friends recommended the Handmaids Tale. I hadn’t gotten around to it, but it’s on the to read list. Sadly enough, I haven’t ready any C.S. Lewis. It’s another one that I want to, just haven’t done it. Maybe when my son gets a little older, I can read it with him.

    So many books, too little time.

  4. Congrats on all the awards, Valerie! Your top books list includes a bunch I don’t know, so I’ll add them to my reading list.

  5. [...] so much to Valerie R. Lawson and Olivia from Olivia’s Opinions for nominating me for the Booker Award and the Readers [...]

  6. Karen Rought says:

    Hey, your layout looks familiar! Just wanted to say thanks again for the award – I’ll have a post up about it soon. :)

  7. [...] June 11, I got the Booker Award from Valerie Lawson. All I can say is, THANK YOU. Seriously. I mean [...]

  8. For some reason I’m just now seeing this. Thank you very much! =)

Leave a Reply

