And Now for Something Completely Different – Blog Tag!

The new season of Dr. Who starts tonight and I’m too excited. This sort of looks like they’re playing tag, doesn’t it?

I’m so slow at playing this game of blog tag it might as well be freeze tag. The lovely Literary Tiger at The Tiger’s Eye blog, tagged me at the beginning of last month. I finally found some time to play so, here we go!

The Rules:

1. I must post the rules. (Voila!)
2. I must answer the questions the tagger listed for me. (I will answer, but I may not do it truthfully, you be the judge.)
3. I must create or reuse 11 questions for those I tag.  (I may tinker with them a bit as they aren’t as topical now – totally my fault!)
4. I must tag 11 people. (That…is a lot of people. I may fudge this one.)
5. I must let them know they’ve been tagged. (Even I can’t screw up these simple instructions.)

The Questions:

1. What do you want to be when you grow up?

Wiser.

2. What is your favorite thing to spend money on?

Books. Books and chocolate.

3. What time of day do you read/write the most?

Reading? All times. If a book is too good to put down, I don’t. I’ve lost sleep over books.

Writing? My best writing is done in the morning, but I also write throughout the day when there are no distractions *cough* family members at home. When the kids get back from school, the writing stops.

4. When you’ve had a hard or a bad day, what makes you feel better?

Venting about it with my husband while he rubs my feet and I eat chocolate. Beer’s good too.

5. If you could own any kind of creature (mythical or not) what would it be?

 I’d love to have my own daemon like in The Golden Compass. A constant animal companion that knew me like no other and could talk to me when I needed to work things out? Awesome! I’d hope it’d be a snow leopard or something equally bad ass, not a bug or a finch. What an outstanding idea Philip Pullman had there, eh?

6. Are you an extrovert or introvert?

A little of both really. It depends on the situation.

I used to be such an introvert at conferences; I’ve forced myself to be more social. I hate schmoozing, but it’s necessary. I love talking to new people, I just hate just starting up conversations with total strangers. I feel like I’m forcing myself on them, but hey, that’s what you’re supposed to do. It feels so unnatural to me. I like sit back and observe people in crowds. You can learn a lot from people-watching.

7. If you could be anybody for just a day, who would it be and why?

One of the kids from Jersey Shore. To apologize to the our nation’s youth and tell them to it’s cool to be smart and start reading more and that they should all stop tanning before they die.

The Doctor. Just because it would be too cool to put into words. (I mean, why waste an opportunity like that, really.)

8. If you could have one superpower, what would it be and why?

This may seem odd, but I’d like some kind of zapping power like the POV gun from The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy movie. So many conflicts arise from people not understanding where the opposite side is coming from. A few zaps from the gun and things could be resolved, yes?

If nothing else, my household could be more peaceful.

9. What’s your favorite Olympic event?

Swimming, gymnastics, and volleyball are my favorites to watch. Not bad outfits either.

10. What were your best and worst subjects at school?

Best? English and History. I was in a GT program in high school and had the same amazing teachers in a block for two years. To teach GT well, you have to be fantastic and special yourself and those ladies definitely were that. They let us stretch and grow and be our weird little special selves in their classrooms. I will always remember Mrs. Harris and Mrs. Franklin. Always.

Worst? P.E. was compulsory when I went to school. I hated this, so I chose to rebel by not going. I mean a section on swimming? In high school? What could be more mortifying to girls with negative body issues? I skipped this class so much that I had to write a report on why my P.E. teacher shouldn’t fail me. My writing skills saved my ass and I eked by with a ‘D’.

11. What’s one thing you want to learn before you die (e.g. a musical instrument, a language, how to perform brain surgery, e.t.c.)?

I never want to stop learning. There are so many things to know! Like, how does sound stick to plastic discs so we can listen to it in a CD player? I get that it works, I just don’t understand HOW. I’ve got a million questions like that rattling around in my brain, don’t get me started.

The Lucky Tagged:

AG at  Nerd Couture

Stephanie Theban at Stories. Read’em. Write’em.

Mike_Reverb

Vik Lit at Scribblings of an Aspiring Author

Laura Stanfill

Andrew at Dyadic Echoes

Cricketmuse

Jocelyn Rish

Katharina Brendel at Portable Magic

MY QUESTIONS: (for the chosen ones)

1. What do you want to be when you grow up?

2. Were you ever afraid of the dark or anything under your bed?

3. What time of day do you read/write the most?

4. When you’ve had a hard or a bad day, what makes you feel better?

5. If you could own any kind of creature (mythical or not) what would it be?

6. Are you an extrovert or introvert?

7. If you could be anybody for just a day, who would it be and why?

8. If you could have one superpower, what would it be and why?

9. What’s the worst trouble you ever got into or the best thing you ever got away with as a kid?

10. What were your best and worst subjects at school?

11. What’s one thing you want to learn before you die (e.g. a musical instrument, a language, how to perform brain surgery, e.t.c.)?

Have fun! I look forward to reading your answers.

14 thoughts on “And Now for Something Completely Different – Blog Tag!

  1. I love Doctor Who soooooo much! I like Matt Smith, but David Tennant is still number one in my heart. Who is your favorite doctor?

  2. I love Doctor Who so much, and I’m so bummed that I don’t have BBCA to watch the new episodes. Fortunately my sister is recording them for me, so next time I take a trip up to visit her, I can catch up. Thanks for the tag, although it might be a while until I get around to answering them. :-)

    Wishing you a very productive #writemotivation month,
    Jocelyn

    1. what a fantastic sister! she deserves an extra hug next time you see her for sure. i’ll look for your answers some time in the future – no hurry. :). i AM hoping for a very productive #writemotivation month, as i am in desperate need of some serious productivity output. good luck on your goals this month as well!

  3. I love the interview questions for this – much more interesting than a lot of blog interviews! I tried to get into Doctor Who, but couldn’t. I usually love these kind of shows. Is there an episode I should start with that will get me hooked?

    1. gah! this is so distressing! many people say you should start with the Blink episode from season three where the weeping angels are first introduced, but i don’t know. if that doesn’t do it for you, i think season four where catherine tate was the companion was the best for david tennant. their relationship is one of the best so far and some of the story lines aren’t bad either. the new guy, matt smith is getting pretty good too, but you have to start somewhere. in the end, i know dr who isn’t for everyone, and we’ll still love you…just a little less. (kidding!)

  4. Hi Valerie, just wanted to stop by and say thank you for you thinking of me! I don’t do blog tags anymore, but I really appreciate the sentiment :)

    Oh, and I LOVE that you would want that zapping power, that really would be amazing to resolve conflicts. Coincidently I just watched The Hitchhiker’s Guide a couple of weeks ago too!

    1. ha! love your HHGTTG comments. douglas adams – what a comic genius. i did see that you’re not doing blog tags anymore, just about the time i posted my comment. always one for reading directions AFTER i should. so no worries, still loving your blog.

Leave a Reply

