I laughed, I cried, I Became a Victim on Cupid’s Literary Connection!

I am now a firm believer in the powers of Twitter.

Oh, I’ve been paying lip-service to Twitter and dutifully tweeting every few days, saying random things I think you’re supposed to say, announcing my new blog posts over the past month. Everything a new young writer is supposed to do. Most of the time that I’m on Twitter, I feel like I’m riding an uncontrollable wave made out of people that don’t care for my comments, don’t get my sense of humor, and would rather I just browse quietly so they don’t have to acknowledge my existence – with the exception of my #writemotivation supporting crew.You guys have been awesome. I know it can be a powerful tool once you get the hang of it, and sometimes I can almost see the end of the enlightenment tunnel, but then someone uses something differently than I’ve been using it and then I know I’ve probably pissed somebody off by the wrong hashtag placement. So basically, it feels like high school all over again. Awkward.

Then, one day a few weeks ago, all my fumbling awkwardness paid off. While browsing through the tweets, I stumbled upon a post by Cupid for Writers re-tweeted from a fellow #writemotivation participant. It was about a contest of sorts called “Surprise Agent Invasion” that sounded very interesting and it had a fast-approaching deadline. The only downside was that I would have to write a query. I loathe queries. I have yet to feel comfortable writing queries. (Why can’t agents and editors just take my word for it that I am fabulous and just read my manuscript, right?)

The good thing about such a short deadline was that I didn’t have time to psych myself out; I had less than twenty-four hours to prepare an entry and submit it. Since I really needed the practice writing queries (stop being whiny and just do it because it’s good for you) this would be a great test-run for my manuscript before I started submitting earnest in April, I jumped at the chance. (Well, actually I closed my eyes and then leaped off the cliff.)

After I submitted my entry, I waited along with 200 others for two weeks to find out if we made the final cut.

I just received the e-mail today congratulating me on my entry becoming a “victim” for Cupid’s Literary Connection “Surprise Agent Invasion” . My entry along with 50 other lucky participants will be displayed for three weeks starting tomorrow. Invited agents will then make comments on our manuscripts and queries or even request our manuscripts. Pretty exciting, eh?

I know it may seem like a little thing, but any positive reinforcement my manuscript gets is like watching my baby taking her first step. When I read the acceptance e-mail, I laughed and cried at the same time, just like when my children were born. Happy tears; overwhelming feelings so hard to describe.

Will I make that ultimate cupid connection with the agent of my dreams? Will she (or he) knock me off my literary feet with an offer I can’t refuse? Who knows what will come of this unusual contest, but I’m ready for it. Wish me luck! (Oh! I better go tweet about it!)

UPDATE: My entry can now be viewed at Cupid’s Literary Connection at the above link. I am #17.

14 thoughts on “I laughed, I cried, I Became a Victim on Cupid’s Literary Connection!

  1. Congratulations!!!! This is something to crow about. hehehe
    I wish i had known about that one, too. I have no idea how to write a query or what to put in it.

    Anyway, good luck on getting a request for the manuscript and/or an agent who’ll represent you.

  2. Yay! Congrats! That’s awesome – I hope a ton of agents swing by. I know Cupid seems to be on the ins with several of them.

    Obviously you have a query that worked, but if you ever need help, I kind of like query writing (and reading). Just give me a holler.

Comments are closed.