Cover Reveal – My Girlfriend Bites! by Doug Soulter

Today, I’m participating in the cover reveal event for a fellow SCBWI OK member. What can I say, we support each other’s work like one big happy family. Doug Soulter’s new book, My Girlfriend Bites! is a cross-species love story with teeth. Read all about it!

MY GIRLFRIEND BITES release date

Tuesday, July 16th

About MY GIRLFRIEND BITES:

When he sets out to find the perfect girl, 16-year-old Aiden discovers she’s the imperfect werewolf he’s always been searching for.

After his “dream” girl rejects him, Aiden tries to commit suicide yet mysteriously survives. Now he feels like a total loser with zero possibility of finding a girl. Enter Bree, the creepy girl with too much hair who is rumored to be mentally disturbed. When Bree gives Aiden a ride home during a storm, the girl’s random act of kindness spurs a friendship that blossoms into love. But that love gets tested when Aiden discovers his new girlfriend is a werewolf.

To make this relationship work, Aiden needs to keep Bree’s secret from his best friend. Deal with a family of werewolves who want to protect their daughter. Stop Bree from killing the first “dream” girl when she changes her mind about Aiden. Oh yeah, and he has to stay away from Bree during her mating cycle. Girl werewolves can get a little crazy when they’re in love.

But Aiden’s true test comes when he must save Bree from an enemy determined to annihilate all the werewolves. An enemy who killed all the wolves in Bree’s pack. An enemy so terrifying…they give werewolves nightmares.

Too bad Bree can’t turn a coward into a fearless werewolf. That bite thing is only a myth. So Aiden will have to do the most frightening thing ever…believe in himself.

Ready for the cover reveal?

BAM!

.

Sometimes the boy gets the werewolf.

Sometime the boy gets the werewolf.

.

About the author:

Growing up in Tulsa, Oklahoma, Doug went to college at nearby Oklahoma State where he earned a Bachelor of Arts in Radio/TV/Film production and worked in local television for 20 years. Doug began writing screenplays in 1998 and became a 2001 semi-finalist in The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences’ Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting for his fifth screenplay, Father Figure. His tenth script, Rail Fan, became a quarter-finalist in 2009. Soon after, Doug made the switch to writing young adult novels. Skid, a young adult novel set in the world of Formula 1 racing, is his first.

Here’s an excerpt of  My Girlfriend Bites! to tide you over until the release next month:

I step on top of the rotting trunk. Wrap the noose around my neck. Tighten it. Soon the rope is snug across my throat as its straw-like surface irritates my skin. But the rope over the pecan branch looks tight and ready to do what I need it to do.

Okay.

All I have to do is step off. Take one step and I can be happy again.

I wonder if Pamela will think about me when I’m dead. I hope she feels guilty.

They all should feel guilty.

A wolf howls through the trees. The sound pierces the silence of the forest as a warm breeze gives me a final kiss goodbye. Sounds like I’ll be a free meal for some lucky wolf tonight.

I feel tears racing down my cheeks. I don’t want to cry. Real men don’t cry when they’re about to face death. I try to stop because I don’t want to go out like this. But I can’t stop.

Damn it. I can’t even die like a real man.

I’m so pathetic.

I breathe in.

And jump off the stump.

Intriguing, right?

To read more tantalizing excerpts, you can visit the other bloggers participating in this reveal at the following links:

.
To learn more about Doug Soulter and his other writing, visit his website here.
14 thoughts on “Cover Reveal – My Girlfriend Bites! by Doug Soulter

  1. I love this cover :)! It was great to be part of this cover reveal with you!

      1. I’m glad you were able to be a part of it! 🙂 Hopefully you’ll do more in the months to come!

      2. All the book bloggers that I’ve contacted on this tour were so enthusiastic about hosting tours in general. They really love it and so it makes me feel good about asking them. Valerie, I do believe there are some book tour services where you can sign your blog up if you have the blog tour hosting bug. 🙂

Comments are closed.