January #writemotivation Week 1

writemotivation_header1

After surviving several arctic blasts, things are beginning to thaw out here in Oklahoma. We’ve gone from a low of a bitter 4° (before considering the dreadful wind chill) to a balmy 55° set for tomorrow (time to break out the sunscreen). There hasn’t been much to do other than bundle up and read, much to my delight. I did manage to get a fair number of things checked off my writerly do-to list. I also found a lovely reading challenge for this month that is so perfect in timing I felt compelled to jump on board. I had been reading my way through a fast-paced Miss Fishergangster novel to review for my blog about the same time I was on Netflix, binge-watching the entire first season of a fantastic Australian series all about a lady detective in the roaring twenties called Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries. The show’s based off the Phryne Fisher books (pronounced FRY-knee) written by Kerry Greenwood. So much fun! It reminded me a bit of my younger days when I used to tear through all the Agatha Christie novels from my hometown library.

Murder, mystery, mayhem!

Just my cup of tea.

jazzageSo what should I see on a fellow writer’s blog a few days ago but an invitation to join the Jazz Age January reading event and celebrate even more of the roaring twenties. Isn’t that just the berries? This event was set up by Leah over at her Books Speak Volumes blog. Feel free to pop on over and check out her suggested reading list and even sign up yourself. I’ll be posting my first book review this weekend with an added bonus of a book giveaway! Woohoo! You don’t want to miss that!

There will be plenty more from the the Jazz Age throughout this month. For now, let’s check on those goals.

My #writemotivation goals for the month are:

  1. Move MG novel into Scrivener and plot out all revisions still needed. Bonus points for finishing it and sending it off. I went through the tutorial twice just to make sure I’d know what I was doing before I got started. I finally imported my baby over and it was painless. I am so in love with Scrivener right now. It’s like having my own (very cheap) assistant who never gets me coffee. 
  2. Make progress on first draft of new YA project. Haven’t started this yet. More likely next week at the earliest.
  3. Prep and plan out all blog posts for the next month. Bonus points for sketching out posts for February. I have planned out most of my posts for January and have begun writing them up. Bare bones sketching for February started, too. I’m getting so organized, it’s scary.
  4. Read at least four books. Thanks to all the snuggly weather, I’m on my second book already. Yay!

And my major stretch goal, as some of my fellow writers are calling their bonus goals – submit my completed YA to at least five agents. We’re not stretching, yet.

Not a bad start to the new year. I hope you’re all doing well with your goals. One day, one word at a time. We can do it!

If you ever have a question or  need cheering or motivation of any kind, remember to join us on the Twitter hashtag, #writemotivation. We’d love to lend our support to our fellow writers.

12 thoughts on “January #writemotivation Week 1

  1. Scrivener is the best! I became a believer a few years ago (their head office is right near where I went to uni 🙂 and while I *know* I still don’t make use of at least half of the incredible features, I can’t imagine writing without it now. Hope it continues to rock your world! And good luck with the rest of January!

  2. I’ve had Scrivener for 2 years. I still don’t know how to use it very well. BUT, this new WIP I started completely inside Scrivener and just going with the flow…. 🙂

    This arctic blast reached even the far flung south…Here in Florida it got down to 17, with a wind chill of 0! dagnabit, if it’s going to be that cold why doesn’t it snow! Imagine, SNOW in FLORIDA!!! Ah well, Saturday we’ll be back in the 80s… Silly Florida Winter! My poor plants.

    Keep up the good work on your goals. You can so do this! Remember, progress is progress. There’s no failing here! 🙂

    1. ooh! snow in florida would be something! we don’t get that much snow here and i’m always excited when we do. (and then i’m always wanting it to be more!)

      glad to see another scrivener newbie out there!

  3. Nice! An excellent start to the month. 🙂

    Hahaha, all this talk about Scrivener makes me feel a bit like a Luddite for clinging to MS Word. But I guess it’s all about whatever squeaks your rubber ducky, yes? 😉

  4. I am so in love with Scrivener. I’ve been using it for 6.5 years lol. Since end of 2007. I can’t imagine using any other software. I get that not everyone loves it, buuuuuut 😉
    *hugs* You will have a fantastic January!

Comments are closed.