Final April #writemotivation check in

writemotivation_header1

I may have overcommitted myself this month.

Just a wee bit.

We have our annual fundraiser for the Autism Center of Tulsa, the A-Ok Walk for Autism coming up in May, and I’m the Team Captain for the Avengers for Trevor team. We are wearing costumes this year (or some of us are) and I’m tracking down props and gathering team members and donations and yeesh, it’s time consuming.

Then, I’m giving a couple of talks next month for our SCBWI OK group and I had to (over) prepare for them. Like way over prepare. I don’t think I know any other way. I hope it goes well. *fingers crossed*

Finally, my son’s job coach and I decided it was time to start increasing his work day – to stretch his potential in manageble increments – until we got him from half days to full days. We both felt he was ready. One thing I should have factored into my schedule was that he doesn’t deal with change well. He gets anxious and needs more attention – he has periods of acting out, aggression, and even total ugly meltdowns when he feels overwhelmed. We’ve seen all of these in the past few weeks. He’s getting better, but we’ve been living with a rabid six foot wolverine most afternoons. Not. Fun.

So…

Why did I think I could revise two complete novels in one month?

Insanity!

I do believe I may have some hereditary traits leaning toward mental instability on my mother’s side. That could explain soooooo many of my questionable life choices. But I digress. Let’s get on with it and view the damage done.

My #writemotivation goals for this month:

1. Work on suggested revisions for Museum Crashers. Although I have made significant progress, I still have a long way to go. I remain excited about the direction this is going and the revision suggestions are only making this story better. Meeting with my critique group this months was also very instructive. They pulled off the kid gloves and gave my chapter the business. It sorely needed it. The end of the story obviously needs more work than the beginning, and I have some character continuity issues to resolve. Everything is very doable, it’s just going to take longer than expected.

Blech.

I need some more chocolate to get through this revision.

2. Work on suggested revisions for Institutionalized. Nope. I’m going to have to add this as a goal for next month. Maybe. If I get goal #1 accomplished. I need to be a little more patient with myself. (Have I ever mentioned that I’m not a patient person?)

3. Read 6 books. So close! But not really. I did read 4 books. Two were picture books. (Not that I have anything against picture books, I love picture books.) I really got hung up on one book that required a slower read. THE DREAM THIEVES by Maggie Steifvater. It was a sequel to a book that I tore through in a couple of days, so it was frustrating that I couldn’t get into the second book so easily. In the end, I was glad I slowed down and stuck with the story. Some books can’t be rushed.  

4. If complete both 1 and 2, work on first draft of Pretty Vacant. Bah! ha ha ha ha ha! Maybe for June.

5. Yes, you still have to exercise. 4 times a week. One goal accomplished! I win! (I’m taking my positives where I can get them.)

So there’s the ugly truth of this month’s goal non-accomplishmenting. I shall not give up, however. I have already signed up for next month to do this thing all over again. I plan on hitting the revision track even harder. Once my son has adjusted to his new work hours, I will have a lot more free time to write. Very excited about that!

I hope you all did better than I did. Here’s to a productive May!

2 thoughts on “Final April #writemotivation check in

  1. Always great to see some positive, no matter how small. And progress is still progress! YAY! Here’s to life slowing down for all of us so we can do what we want to do! 🙂

    Jai

Comments are closed.