June #writemotivation week 1

writemotivation_header1
Looking Back

A brief, blunt, and honest review of how dismally I did on my goals in May before we see what this month has in store.

The goals for May were:

  1. Continue work on suggested revisions for MUSEUM CRASHERS. Didn’t finish. 
  2. Work on suggested revisions for Institutionalized. Didn’t even start. 
  3. If complete revisions, submit to interested parties/begin submission process. Nope.
  4. Read 6 books. Did read 4 out of 6, which was actually better than I thought I would do.
  5. The dreaded and yet necessary exercise – whip cracks! 4 times a week. Done. One goal accomplished. 

So yes, some extenuating, messy life stuff happened. When doesn’t it?

Life is messy.

During these turbulent times I think it’s even more important for me to make sure I don’t short-change myself by neglecting to set aside time for my writing. This is what I vow to do going forward. This is what I MUST do if I am ever going to accomplish what I desire  – to be a writer. I have to make it a priority, no matter what.

Looking Forward

My #writemotivation goals for this month:

  1. Work on suggested revisions for INSTITUTIONALIZED.
  2. If complete revisions, submit to interested parties/begin submission process.
  3. Read 5 books.
  4. Plan out summer blog ideas/giveaways, etc.
  5. Exercise 4 times a week.The Poisoned House

I’ve been working hard this week to stay focused and organized. I’ve already read one book this month, a ghost story called THE POISONED HOUSE by Michael Ford. I can’t remember whose reading list I stole this book from, probably Sonia Gensler’s, but whomever’s it was, I thank you. It was an eerily enjoyable read. I’ve also made some big decisions on plot changes for the YA story, so I’m ready to move forward on the revisions. Oh, yeah, and I joined a gym with my daughter and actually used the membership. Yay, me.

Here’s to a better, more productive month. Hope you all are having a fun summer and making good progress on your goals.

Until next time…

9 thoughts on “June #writemotivation week 1

  1. Life is messy. You are doing awesomely! I need to make a goal next month to read more books. It feels like forever since I’ve read anything.

    Keep up the greatness! 🙂

  2. Productivity does seem to come in waves, so if you were in a trough last month, you ought to be riding the wave soon. And The Poisoned House looks great- darn it! Another book on the list now!

  3. Good luck on finishing your goals this month. Seems the nut doesn’t fall far from the tree when it comes to actually working on goals we set. Love ya, Dad

Comments are closed.