Thankful

This has been a crap year for me.

My marriage of 24 years ended painfully, as such things often do. The side effects caused by this, especially for my kids, have compounded and multiplied, and I don’t see an end to the trauma anytime soon.

I’ve had to dig deep to find more and more strength to keep going through some very dark days. Many times, it was my friends that helped me through.

I am terrible at asking for help or unloading my crap on others, so forcing myself to share what was going on with me was tremendously uncomfortable – almost painful.

I also have a tendency to go radio silent when things are at their worst.

I know I made the conscious (and again, extremely painful) effort to stay busy, to be social and to not stay home on my couch in the dark. I made the effort to answer the phone when friends called to check up on me, because they knew I was going through a tough time , and needed to talk (even though I really, really, REALLY didn’t want to talk to anyone), but I also know I wouldn’t have made it through without the support of my friends.

Even though things still suck monumentally right now, things won’t suck forever. I will get through this.

Because of them.

It’s the season of giving thanks, and to all of you who helped me make it this far, I love you and I am forever thankful.

Love Sun

10 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. I look at myself and see this same tendency to “turtle in” during the hard times. It takes a great deal of strength to fight that defense mechanism. You should be very proud of yourself for trusting those in your inner core. Keep your chin up, cousin and remember that you are loved!

  2. Valerie, this year has been hard, but next year is going to be great. You are going to sell a book, and things are going to be easier in your personal life. Love you,Anna From: valerie r lawson To: amyers_author@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, November 25, 2015 8:32 AM Subject: [New post] Thankful #yiv9066269700 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9066269700 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9066269700 a.yiv9066269700primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9066269700 a.yiv9066269700primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9066269700 a.yiv9066269700primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9066269700 a.yiv9066269700primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9066269700 WordPress.com | valerierlawson posted: “This has been a crap year for me.My marriage of 24 years ended painfully, as such things often do. The side effects caused by this, especially for my kids, have compounded and multiplied, and I don’t see an end to the trauma anytime soon.I’ve had ” | |

Leave a Reply

